“Kitchen Sink” Potato Hash

February 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

Short and sweet because this recipe is such a lazy-morning no-brainer.  This is exactly the kind of recipe you want when you wake up and know you just neeed something warm and starchy and garlicky to mess your eggs around in.  I forgot toast, but it wasn’t even missed.  And that is a big thing.

(One of these days, I’ll remember to take pictures. I used a purple potato, for crying out loud!)

Serves 2 college student stomachs.

1 potato, medium dice*
1/4 yellow onion, smallish dice (I’m obviously very precise about my potato hash…HA.)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 T olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste
To this combination you can add a world of options (kale or chard, braised meat, mushrooms, chili flakes, some melty cheese at the finish) but here’s what I used:
1 Poblano pepper, diced
3 slices Canadian bacon, diced

Heat oil in a 12″ skillet (all those tasty bits left in the bottom of the pan by the end make me wish I had cast iron) over a medium-high flame.  Add onion and garlic, and cook until the onion just starts to soften, a couple minutes.  Add potato and let cook about 5 minutes, stirring as little as possible so that it gets a nice crust but doesn’t burn. Add Poblano and Canadian bacon, and season with salt and pepper.  Continue cooking until potato is cooked through and Poblano is somewhat softened, about 15-20 minutes.

*I cheated. I had a mostly-cooked purple potato left over from the previous night that I used, so my cooking time was way shorter.

Serve with two over-medium eggs and consume with gusto.  Follow up with board games in pajamas with the roommates.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Kitchen Sink” Potato Hash at Reel Meals.

meta

