Pan-Poached Egg

January 21, 2011 § 2 Comments

Maybe there’s a real name for this technique, but until I hear it, it is “pan-poached” to me. This is just delicious; it fixes the issue I have with fried eggs with whites that have gotten too done on the edges by the time the yolk is right where I want it, and the flavor combination here was exactly what I was craving today.
Frontera salsa, from what I’ve noticed, seems a bit “looser” or waterier than other brands. Add the tomato paste in small increments and stop when it is about the thickness you want. I like it to where it will just cling to the egg and not spread very much.

1/2 c. salsa (I used Frontera’s Jalapeño Cilantro salsa)
1 to 3 tbsp tomato paste, depending on the consistency of your salsa
1 egg
1 tbsp quark*
Salt and pepper to taste
Hot sauce of your choice to taste (optional)

Heat salsa in small saucepan until simmering. Spoon in tomato paste in increments, as noted above, until desired consistency is reached, blending well after each addition.
Gather tomato-salsa mixture into a puddle and make a well big enough for the egg to sit in, leaving a thin layer such that the egg will not quite touch the bottom of the pan.
Crack egg directly into the well. Season with salt and pepper.
Once the white sets around the edges, flip the egg. (I was super uptight and didn’t want the egg getting scorched on the second side, so I shuffled the salsa around to create a new well right next to the egg to flip it into.)
As soon as the white is entirely opaque, crumble the quark over the egg and spoon some of the salsa mixture over the quark to help it warm through.
Once the yolk is set to your liking (I like it on the over easy side for this), remove egg, salsa and all from the pan to a plate and enjoy. Add hot sauce if desired.
I imagine this would be excellent with tortilla or pita chips; unfortunately, I had none on hand to try it myself.

*If you don’t have quark (although you should really try to find it, as it’s absolutely delicious), you can substitute soft goat cheese (chevre) or a small dollop of sour cream on the finished product. I highly recommend investigating this fresh soft cheese however; it’s excellent with crackers and quite healthy to boot. Here’s the Wikipedia entry on quark.

Go forth and explore!

§ 2 Responses to Pan-Poached Egg

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pan-Poached Egg at Reel Meals.

meta

