Bloggin

January 18, 2010 § Leave a comment

I now have a place to tell everyone who cares to listen about what I’ve been cooking, learning, doing ‘n’ making.

For today’s post, we have ground pork (courtesy of Fischer Farms!), snow pea and carrot stirfry. It’s got pretty good flavor, but it’s a little off what I was looking for. Started with some peanut oil, three cloves of minced garlic, a little over half a sprig of lemongrass, finely chopped, and the peel from half an orange. I figured that since I couldn’t find the zester (if we have one) I could just let it marry in with the oil while it all cooked. Once that was going I added the carrots, which is where I started to drive it south. I was concerned about the toughness of the carrots after several minutes so I covered them with the lid. This could probably have been passable if I didn’t leave it on so long as I did, or if I had tested the toughness by actually eating one instead of trying to tell by cutting it with a dull metal turner. Uff. Anyway, they were just on the less-cooked side of done when I added the pork, some soy sauce, salt and pepper. I let that work for a bit, breaking up the pork, and left it to brown a bit on the bottom. When that was close to cooked I added the snow peas. Once it was all pretty much good to go I added more soy sauce to taste and the juice of nearly an entire orange.

End product was a good-tasting stir fry with some ever-so-slightly-too-soft carrots… which just happens to be one of my pet peeves as far as cookin’ goes. I also don’t really taste any of the lemongrass, so I’ll have to research/experiment with that. Maybe using more or adding it a little further along would prove helpful.

I’d offer photos if my camera weren’t on the fritz.

More stuff later!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bloggin at Reel Meals.

meta

